FFwD:Salmon and Grapefruit Salad

        Our recipe for the week was the Crab and Grapefruit Salad on page 134.  This assignment created something of a dilemma as we don’t eat shellfish at home. I knew there was an option to use imitation crabmeat.  I discovered that all the regular imitation crab is flavored with real crab shells so I  tried to find kosher imitation crab but there was none to be found here.   I had a piece of poached salmon in the refrigerator so I decided to try the recipe substituting the salmon for the crab.  It was an inspired choice.  I had a ripe avocado so I made guacamole with half and small pieces with the rest.  I served it as the first course at dinner.  My husband and daughter who is usually a picky eater loved this.  Surprisingly I too found it agreeable.

You can see how the other participants of French Fridays with Dorie fared here as we cook our way through all the recipes in Around My French Table by Dorie Greenspan.

Leave a Reply

