FFwD: Roasted Salmon and Lentils

Oh what a joyful dinner! Darling son is home for spring break and it was so special to have all four of us around the table enjoying a great dinner and each other.  Preparing this meal gave me something to do other than worry about son driving home as wind, thunderstorms, and tornadoes moved through the area between his college and home.  Just as I finished the clean-up after preparing everything but the salmon I heard the rattle of keys in the door and was able to release a big sigh of relief and thanksgiving.

When I saw that we were making Roasted Salmon and Lentils this week I knew I wanted to wait to make it for today.  I’ve told you before that my children tease me about serving chicken every Friday.  I don’t serve it every Friday but it is so frequent that it has become their own special joke.  We all like salmon so I knew this would be well received.

Whole Foods had green lentils but after reading the descriptions in a few other posts I guess they weren’t lentils du Puy.  Dorie’s  instructions were easy to follow but it’s not clear to me why we chopped the vegetables after cooking rather than before and why we are instructed to puree the lentils rather than just mash a few in the broth.  Chopping the cooked onion was just making “a hot mess” as one of my friends would say so I just pureed it in the already dirtied food processor.

The salmon roasted beautifully in a hot oven for 12 minutes.  It came out perfectly. It did look great perched on a bed of lentils.  I did decide to add a small scoop of rice to the plate. Sprinkle with a little chopped parsley and it was ready to eat.

We did all enjoy it.  Well actually, darling daughter ate the salmon but pretty much skipped the lentils but she has never really liked them.  My husband said it was good but maybe a bit bland.  Son cleaned his plate; I think he was just terribly glad to be eating a home cooked meal.

Be sure to check out all the other posts here at French Fridays with Dorie to see how all the other Doristas fared with this recipe from Around My French Table by Dorie Greenspan.

6 Comments

  1. Glad to hear you had mostly favorable reviews! I went the opposite round and pre-chopped the veggies before the simmering time. No way was I going to bother chopping soft, mushy veggies.

  2. I also processed most of my veggies in the food processor too. I figured it was the best way to give some texture to my dish. I also added a few peppercorns and some thyme to the split peas (my unsuccessful substitution). I hope you enjoyed your son’s company this week. 🙂

  3. nana

    Tricia and I both found the recipe lacking flavor, and considering all the steps
    to cook lentils, it wasn’t worth it. The salmon turned out delicious cooked the
    way Dorie instructed, but I think the lentils needed more spice. Glad you all
    enjoyed the dish, and isn’t it nice to have your family around to cook for,

  4. Glad your son had safe travels. My brother lives in the Cincinnati region & from what he said things were a bit scary yesterday. (I think I’d rather deal with a foot of snow than that)
    Sounds like this was a hit for you! We ended up leaving our veggies in big chunks per the little peeps request & they were pretty tasty bits (and added some color).

  5. haha! I remember coming home from college for a great home cooked meal! 🙂 How nice of you! And what a great plate to welcome your son home with! It’s pretty nice! I liked this one quite a bit and lentils were new to me and Dorie completely sold me on this one! 🙂

  6. Is there anything better than having your entire family around your table? Now that our sons are married, one living out of state, nothing makes me happier than having us all together at the table. We loved this dish! Glad you were able to shake things up for your family!

Leave a Reply

