Apple Sharlotka

Saw this lovely apple dessert on Smitten Kitchen recently and it looked so beautiful.  And the recipe is so simple.  It is just thinly sliced, almost chopped, apples piled in a spring pan and a simple batter, just eggs, sugar, flour, no butter, poured over.  I was a little skeptical but then last week I saw that MissBlossomBakes had also made one and hers was just as beautiful.  When friends called and asked us to join them for dinner I thought this was just the thing to make to take.  This was just as easy as Smitten Kitchen described and tasted wonderful.  Mine did have to stay in the oven longer but that is probably my oven’s fault.

If you want a light, fruity dessert this makes a wonderful choice.  It’s not really a cake and not a pie but rather something in between.  Smitten Kitchen says it is a Russian dessert.  I’m certainly adding this to our regular dessert rotation.  Thanks MissBlossomBakes for the encouragement to make this.

3 Comments

  1. I’ve heard of this cake but have never tried it. Yours looks delicious.

  2. This cake looks delicious. I am going to check out Smitten Kitchen to see if I can find the recipe. I think my daughters would love this for breakfast. Thanks.

    • It was lovely and I think it would be good for breakfast. Let me know if you have trouble finding the recipe. I haven’t figured out how to make a link yet. That’s my goal for Feb.

Leave a Reply

