FFwD: Nutella Tartine

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nutella spread on bread, Dorie tells us, is a favorite after school snack for French children. She gives us a fancy version suggested by Pierre Herme. She suggests brioche or challah and I really did plan intend to make a brioche loaf but a busy week and attempting to read 300+ blog entries over on TWD-BWJ intervened. Ultimately, I decided to use a few slices of the white loaf I made last week. I removed the crust to satisfy darling daughter and it did seem to dress up what really is just a fancy piece of toast.   The orange marmalade and the sprinkle of salt did cut through the sweetness of the hazelnuts and chocolate. It made for a lovely coffee break this afternoon.

While it might be a little too much for a regular after school snack around our house, I have decided that it will be a good recipe to remember when husband comes in and asks if there is any dessert and there is none.

You can see how the other Doristas did with this recipe at http://www.frenchfridayswithdorie.com/?p=987#comments.

5 Comments

  1. I know! I’m still wading through all the TwD posts. Your tartine looks tasty!

  2. What a lovely dish you made.

  3. I haven’t made it through all the TwD blogs either, in fact, I might have to give up! I thought this was a great grown up afternoon snack.

  4. nana

    That does look good. Tricia and I both enjoyed this too. I gave up on the
    reading of TWD, just too many to go thru. Maybe next time.

  5. I agree about the TWD posts. A bit overwhelming! I’m at least trying to find my ffwd friends. I liked either the marmalade or the nutella, but not together. Though you make a good point – an easy “dessert”! I used my white bread too – yours looks very festive with the crusts cut off!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

